IELTS 2 : what is the role of colours in trade world? and how?

Colours is a powerful tool that is used to great effect by manufacturers and retail companies when they try to sell us something. In fact, many of the purchasing decisions we make are partly or largely influenced by colour. How true is this statement? How much does colour influence us when we buy something?

In this competitive era of marketing products in international trade, many companies use any kinds of strategies to attract consumers through their product features. By this case, most factories try to manipulate colours in their best ways of selling items in order to get successful results. While this is true for its effect to create product images among customers, I suspect this occurs also due to its ability in changing buyers' feeling of a shop.

It is undoubted that colours of a commodity are significant elements for determining people's decisions in buying goods because it can visualise product quality at customer's fist sight. When a consumer find a product with a common colour that indicates natural and quality, that person is more potential to purchase the product. This case can be seen as an example in most people's tendencies in buying yellow bananas instead of deep yellow bananas with black spots around of it as they think these colours show its freshness level and quality.

Colours that are decorated in some places also have considerable effects to manipulate customers that result in purchasing an object. Customers can be easily influenced to change their preferences on choosing expensive products over the cheaper ones by only seeing the materials differently under the light of a bright coloured shop. To illustrate, a sparkling, branded watch in human's thought can be more interesting to be purchased when it is compared with ordinary products under a classical design interior with gold, cream, and light brown on the wallpaper. However, a research finding from consumer science studies in Arizona Univeristy stated that other attributes which include the price, the position where a product is sold, loyalty and the uniqueness of packaging, are more significant determiners in developing people's buying intentions besides a colour factor.

In brief, colours as one of attributes that is undeniable positive to influence the success of marketing could affect people's buying lists through its likelihood to create different emotions of the consumers in designed places. Therefore, consumer should take careful consideration when they decide to purchase something.