The role of public health workers in helping community protect from communicable diseases.

communicable diseases issue

Nowadays, with the fast growth of civilization, communicable diseases remain an issue and even increasingly serious because of the change of weather as well as diverse other factors. CDs cause thousands of deaths annually. Therefore, as the public health worker in the future, I think I have the responsibility to improve this matter.

A communicable disease is one that is spread from one person to another through a variety of ways including blood; bodily fluids; airborne virus; bitten by an insect. Some of the CDs are HIV/AIDs, dengue, measles, and so on. Those diseases are really dangerous.

What need to be done is to provide people in communities with common knowledge of how to protect them from communicable diseases. The most important thing for the PWs is to learn and research this problem deeply and then apply this knowledge to communities. In order to do that, communication should be done by public health staff. We should do both direct and indirect to help people achieve common knowledge of infectious diseases. Firstly, direct communication is face-to-face such as talks, group discussions, home visits and tutorials, club activities, hands-on guidance, counselling, competitions, etc. Secondly, indirect communication is through mass media like TV, radio, newspapers, magazines and other information materials like posters, banners, manuals, etc. We need to provide clear, concise and helpful information about the causes, the pathogens, the symptoms, the risk factors that enhance the transmission, the preventive measure of communicable diseases. Besides, to use appropriate approaches to reach specific groups for communication and mobilization, paying more attention to face-to-face and small-group communication and peer education. In addition, communication also plays a significant role in warning people when diseases occur.

In conclusion, it cannot be denied the role of public health workers in helping community step by step change their habits and behaviors as being recommended.