A rule of the same percentage of male and female learners in a school shouldn't apply - it's harmful

Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

(256 words)

Many people think universities should accept equivalent amounts of male and female students in each subject. However, I do not agree with this opinion.

From applying this policy, several related problems can be identified. Unfairness should be first mentioned. Many skilled candidates might not win a place at the universities they desire just because they are out of the list which contains 50% the best students in their gender, although they could gain higher scores or have better abilities than other people of the counterpart. Secondly, this rule might double pressure on students. For instance, one university wants to enroll 2,000 fresh students: 1,000 ones in each gender so a student has to try to be one of top 1,000 instead of becoming one of top 2,000. As a result, most of them will bear a heavier burden of examination.

On the other hand, some particular subjects are suitable for a certain gender. Engineering, programming, mathematics... are more popular among male students whilst females prefer pedagogics, accounting... To evidence, according to a recent published statistic, there were 1012 male applicants and 82 females submitting applications for admission to the Electricity Department of University of Da Nang in 2015 and the number of new students that department wanted to have was 200 people. Therefore, if this university had used the policy, they would have been likely not to have enough students to educate.

In conclusion, I believe that it is not appropriate to let universities accept the same percentage of male and female learners in every subject.