It is often said "when in Rome, do as the Romans do." Do you think people should adapt and accept...

adapting to the culture of the host country and learning it without knowing the local language?

Many people believe that "When in Rome, do as the Romans do" means that visitors should respect and integrate into the mores of host nations. While I agree with this view, I partly disagree with the opinion that learning the language is unnecessary to understand the culture.

It is clear that every country has its own specific traditions and customs that new arrivals should appreciate and follow. First, integration helps travelers avoid some embarrassing misbehaviors as well as increases sentiments of local hospitality. For instance, tipping is not customary in Japan. In fact, it might be considered rude and insulting in some situations. This case is similar to hands-waving in Greek and pigeons feeding in Singapore. Another reason why they should be well equipped with cultural knowledge is to broaden their horizons and global mindset, which paves the way for further experiences.

On the other hand, visitors can simply comprehend the essence of a culture to a certain limit without learning its dialect. Meanwhile, they can obtain an in-depth knowledge of that civilization if they have a solid language understanding. This is because cultural features have been accumulated and evolved as time goes by, it is implausible to decipher fully without knowing the language to either communicate with habitants or search for more detailed information. Hence, language is the key to any perception.

All things considered, while I hold a belief that visitors should have a sense of appreciation and respectability towards the culture of where they are visiting, a basic understanding of the language is crucial for any cultural study.