Salary can overweight other factors when it comes to selecting a job

Question: When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

money as a primary motivation

Many people believe that salary is the primary factor when deciding to take a job, Personally, I completely disagree with this point of view.

Although income plays an essential role, there are several reasons why it is not the foremost thing to be taken into consideration. Firstly, salary is usually determined by the labor market. If an employer offers a salary that is considered too low, the applicant will not take the job, thus making the employer raise it in order to attract more workforce. In fact, the amount paid to employees offered by the majority of corporations are considerably reasonable, and applicants can always try to negotiate to get the desired salary. Secondly, salary always corresponds to the characteristics of the job. Jobs with high salary often comes with tremendous responsibilities and demands specific qualifications. Occupations which have inherent risks such as stuntmen or cleaning workers on tall buildings also offer great income.

When choosing a job, applicants have diverse aspects to take into account. Passion and personal preference have always equitably affected the way people select their profession. For example, people crave for creativity will take a job that allows them to innovate rather than a repetitive one. Working environment and the culture of the company are also equally crucial to an applicant's choice of career. Having a friendly manager and helpful co-workers can create a huge difference to employees' level of happiness. Thousands of graduates are competing against each other to get into big and prestigious firms hoping that they can benefit from these firms, whereas there are other companies that are willing to pay them more with the same, if not, less amount of work and pressure.

In conclusion, I totally disagree that salary can overweight other factors when it comes to selecting a job.