Same laws which prohibit the sale and consumption of heroin be applied to tobacco?

In this world, many people are diseased due to the addiction of tobacco. This is not only affecting the people who consume it but also it affects the whole society; including family, friends and neighbors. As Addiction of tobacco is higher than any other illicit drugs, It is a conundrum that whether government should impose stringent law similar to heroin consumption on tobacconists and tobacco addicts or not. It will be discussed in this essay.

It is true, addictive drugs and tobacco are eating our society, spreading devastating damage to the whole society. Many governments spend millions of dollar behind the people who suffer from various diseases developed by such addictions. Increased health care fund for these people might be useful to other area of society such as education and development of rural area to improve economic condition. Moreover, tobacco addiction also weakens bond with family and friends. For instance, people who consume tobacco are very vulnerable to disease like depression, headache, migraine, mood swinging. Such diseases play vital role in damaging relationships.So, today, many people demand that government should look at this issues actively and take some actions to stop its ripple effect in society. Some people who take this issue very sensitively, even seeking a law similar to heroin consumption offense, from their government.

However, It seems quite unfair law to ban only tobacco totally. Because, there are many other drugs like alcohol and and other prescribed medicines also have same effect on human body after long term consumption. So, they all also should be prohibited. Practically, it is impossible to ban each and everything that affects human body badly. Moreover, bringing law against tobacco will invite criminals to run black market to sell tobacco, similar to marijuana's illegal market.

To sum up, banning a product due to its side effects has never worked within any country. In fact, it motivates some enthusiastics to buy it for any price from black market. in few words, it never works with law. the other way to curb it would be to educate people about its harmfulness, its long term effects, its overly dependance and its effect on friends, family and society as a whole.