IELTS Writing Task 2 Sample Answer: Acceptance / Unsatisfactory Lives (IELTS Cambridge 14)

Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate whether one should agree to work with little in return or one should exert efforts in negotiating for higher salary. In my perspectives, those two school of thoughts make high sense and could be applied in different circumstances.

Regarding the first opinion implying that individual should take any chances in job opportunities, regardless the unfavored amount of salary. One should treat these offers as hands-on experience to improve job-related skillsets. For some people, money is not the ultimate motive in working. For instance, given this highly competitive job market, fresh graduates desire nothing but the ability to apply their knowledge into reality. Therefore, they are likely to accept any given chances even though most of the allowances are low.

On the other hand, supposed on is matured enough in certain position and is confident in their competence, it is advisable for them to go extra in making a good deal in salary agreement. Senior employees, whose work's experiences lasted more than five years, have higher chances to success in such negotiation. It is safe to say, one deserve the sufficient amount of salary if their contributions are likely to reap significant success to the organization. There are many ways to improve the underpaying situation including demonstrating clearly your capabilities and presenting past achievements to the new employer

Generally, one should be able to position their skills and competence before pursuing job opportunities. Sometimes, chances and experience are pivotal to the self-development in early stages, whereas sometimes one should know their worth and seek for well-deserved salary.