Satisfaction of a job plays a critical role in deciding one's overall happiness

Factors contributing to job satisfaction

Topic: As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

As an average worker spends nearly one-third of his life at workplace, whether he is satisfied with is job or not plays a critical role in deciding his overall happiness and health condition. In my opinion, elements that contribute to job satisfaction include salary and benefit, work-life balance and opportunity for growth.

Firstly, most people go to work to earn money to support themselves and their family. As a result, high salary with periodic revision for increase, attractive benefit and reward system definitely makes workers happy. Secondly, the ability to fulfill the job requirements and other personal goals at the same time also leads to satisfaction at work. If a job is too stressful or time consuming, it will prevent people from enjoying recreating activities and maintaining their personal relationships. This, in turn, will adversely affect their personal life as well as their health. The third element that helps build the fulfillment of workers is the opportunity for self-development. A position that enables workers to learn new skills and knowledge every day, make achievements in their career and pursue their passion creates the intrinsic happiness and the feeling of control over their own life. It is probably the dream job of many people.

Although the majority of employees want to enjoy their job, it is unrealistic to expect that all workers can get it. In fact, many people have to work in a job that does not suitable to their ability and interest for many reasons. Hard economic condition and lose control over the implementation of labor law also result in poor working condition in many job, making employees feel insecure and resentful.

In conclusion, although job satisfaction for everyone is something hard to be achieved, it will be possible to improve overall job satisfaction if the three above mentioned factors are developed.

I would appreciate all your comments on my essay.