How to save our society? Honour, knowledge, honesty, and humanity.

A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

features of a perfect society

In recent years, the societies have changed in many cultural and economical aspects. Some people grab the idea that individuals should be categorised and valued by their social status, their jobs and their wealth. They say that the materialistic view could be a good way to identifying people's level and honour, kindness and other ethical characters are out of date. I am totally against this idea and view and in this essay I will explain my reasons.

First, I believe the characters such and being gentle, honesty, living by honour and following the conscience exist from the begging the life on the earth and never lost their value. Good manners and kindness were the basic requirements for any leaders and communities where followed ethical codes remained in the history. Even in the all holy books, there are stories of those who followed the humanity and their good name remained even after they vanished from the earth.

Secondly, in our current society, everything changes rapidly and those things which were worthy and loved by many, have been forgotten. I think first character of a good measurement should be its lasting and if something yesterday existed and today has gone, could not be considered as a good index. Wealth, social status and other material possessions could be lost as time goes on. A rich person might lose the job or went bankrupt and become no one in the society with materialistic measures. And in contrary, A thief or a liar could change to be a very well-known person because of his of her material-possessions and this could change all the basics of the ethics in the community. Of course I do not say that all rich or famous people are inhuman or unkind, just making a short discussion about the value of humanity.

In the other side, there are who see the high positions and expensive cars or houses as an index to judge about people. They say money would bring power and change many things. With money and power, one can run the country and lead it to the better way.

In sum, I believe, honour, knowledge, honesty and living by humanity would save our society and last forever.