IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - SAVING ANIMAL SPECIES

Many people feel it is a waste of money to try to save endangered animal species, for example the tiger or the blue whale.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People have different views about whether it is necessary for using money to attempt to protect threatened animal species. To a certain extent, I agree that spending money to preserve these kinds of animal is totally worth it. However, I also think that there are other existed issues in the world need to be solved.

First of all, wild creatures play a significant role in maintaining the balance of the ecosystem. The loss of ecosystem balance may cause huge impacts in many fields of the globe such as economy, education or science. For example, it can create a lot of catastrophe like a thunderstorm or tsunami which destroy any financial center and cause economic collapse. Secondly, younger generations may lack knowledge about some kinds of species and lose the chance to analyze them. Just imagine how bad it is if our next generations have no clue about panda when they see a picture. Lastly, the planet needs the diversity of species and animals all depend upon each other for survival.

At the same time, in addition to protecting the endangered creature, I also believe that our Earth has many other problems that we need to work on. For example, with Covid-19 pandemic, the world needs to deal with a lot of problems: loss of human life, economic and social disruption, employment and labor issues and every single problem is in a state of emergency. The Government and authorities need to consider what is the most essential issues at the moment, so that money can be used rationally not only for animals but also for people in the world.

In conclusion, while I disagree with those who claim that it is a wastage of money when using for preserving wildlife, I also think that there are other concerns that need to be solved. If we can work on these logically, we can improve the world generally.