Saving money for future is more useful than spending on travel.

A growing number of people are enjoying traveling in their free time and are spending a lot of money at home and abroad. It seems that carpe diem is put much more emphasis than ever. Contrary to today's trend, I think that saving money for the future is more important than spending money on travel. This essay will discuss the reasons in support of my idea.

First of all, savings can be spent in a more useful way. Let me take a friend of mine for example. When she was in the last year of college, most of students in her class decided to take a trip to Europe. Her classmates visited museums, tourism destinations and shopping strips. Having a great time, they believed that this trip would enable them to broaden knowledge and to refresh themselves. However, the reality was completely different. To their dismay, they had to give up further study after graduation while my friend went abroad to study. It is needless to say that her savings lay a foundation for studying abroad.

Another point is that people should be ready for getting old with no earnings. Thanks to medical breakthroughs, life expectancy is getting longer but the time of making money in our lives is fairly limited. In other words, people are expected to live a longer life without incomes than ever. Worse, workers are often forced to quit their jobs earlier than they have planed because of an economic downturn, technological development or the entry of younger and more competent workforces. Even social security offered by the government and pension funds prepared by companies and workers do not guarantee a decent life after retirement. Under the circumstance, it is hard to find any room to spend money on travel.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree that it is better to spend money on travel than to save money for the future. This is because saving money for future is more useful than spending on travel. In addition, given that life expectancy is getting longer, individuals need to prepare for their retirement.