Ielts Task 2: Should school children not be given homework by their teachers?

Ielts Task 2: Essay about homework

Some people belive that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, we are living in a world where education is a heated topic and often discussed. While an abundance of people believe that their kids should not be given exercises by their teacher, others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. In my view, the setting of homework is very necessary for children.

There are several reasons why many people argue that homework is unnecessary for the student. Firstly, many parents would agree that the school day is long enough, their children would be very tired when they have to work in their home. Secondly, there is evidence to support the idea that homework does not improve the educational outcomes of many children. Vietnam exemplified this situation. According to the Educational Ministry of Vietnam, a multitude of the students in Hung Vuong secondary School, where children are not given homework, have a high score in exams. Finally, it is recognized that playtime is very beneficial for children to develop their brains.

In spite of this aforementioned, I support the view that homework is vital for the schooling of children. The main benefit of homework is that it could encourage independent working and problem solving, because children have to finish their assignments alone. For example, by doing Math at home, children have to try their best to remember their knowledge in the class, search a lot of information and they could have an in-depth knowledge of Maths. In my opinion, homework is very important for children to develop an independent study habit because they have to work alone as adults.

In conclusion, homework certainly has its drawbacks, but it still has an important role to play in children's schooling.