Should school reduce the time of teaching the arts and humanities?

"Since science and technology are becoming more and more essential to modern society, schools should devote more time to teaching science and technology and less to teaching the arts and humanities."(37)

Views differ greatly when it comes to the issue of whether schools should devote more time to teaching science and technology rather than to teaching the arts and humanities. Many people hold that science and technology deserve to gain more attention in nowadays world, since our world is dominated by the technology. However, even though science and technology are becoming more important now, school should not reduce the time on teaching the arts and humanities because those two things can not only enrich our spirit, but also stimulate our creativity, which is a key factor for improve the technology.

First of all, the art comforts our soul and spirit, bringing us the force to against the stresses and giving us the ability to understand the beauty of the world. In the world of today, there is tension everywhere: tons of works, burden of mortgage, pressure from competitors, and so on. People living in such anxiety for too long may be unhappy and upset. Through the arts, people can find another world, which is different from the reality, to relax their stress. For example, when feeling lonely and depress, people are able to create a comfortable space in their mind by placing themselves in front of a painting filled with warm sunlight, blooming sunflowers, and many joyful kids. Such painting always brings us the energy to fight with reality and creates a feeling of hope. Therefore, school should not cut the time of art teaching, since it may give us another way to heal the spiritual pain and suffering.

In addition, learning the arts and humanities can also trigger our creativities. Many philosophies and art works are based on the sophisticated mathematics. That is, when doing an art work or discussing the philosophy, we will elaborate our thought and do some brainstorming. In such process, people can develop their creativities, thereby stimulating the sense of mathematical. For instance, Leonardo da Vinci, one of the greatest painter, was renowned by those excellent master piece, such as The Last Supper, Mona Lisa, Vitruvain Man, and so on. However, he was also a talented mathematician and scientist. He learned of many mathematics theories and engineer structure by observing and painting the natural or the creatures. As the result, it is better to add more art and philosophy courses in order to boost students' creativities.

In conclusion, although the science and technology become an important issue and an unresisted trend in the world of today, we still need the arts and humanities to compensate our life. The arts and humanities offer us not only a channel to relax our nervous spirit, but also an alternative way to stimulate our creativities. Therefore, I hold that schools should not cut the time on arts and humanities, since they definitely enrich our life and mind.