All School Subjects or Subjects of Interest - Ielts Task 2 Essay

learning all-round curriculum or concentrating on favourite subjects?

Hello everyone! I'm practicing IELTS writing and would like to hear any feedback or recommendations from the forum. Thank you in advance!

Topic: Some people believe that teenagers should concentrate on all school subjects. Others believe that teenagers should focus on the subject that they are best at or that they find the most interesting. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is very hard to say which is better for teenagers, learning an all-round curriculum or concentrating on their favourite subjects. I would say that balancing these two points is the best way.

Most schools tend to provide a broad education and produce well-rounded individuals. From a social point of view, the breadth of general knowledge is also a symbol of a well-educated person. But if teenagers are forced to learn a wide range of subjects, their energy will be limited, the result is that they cannot have a chance to develop their special talents. Meanwhile, they can hardly get ideal scores on those subjects which they are not interested in, it will undermine their confidence.

However, it still will cause some problems if teenagers are given too much freedom to decide the courses which they would like to learn by their own. Some courses are basic courses which should be learned by everyone, they are the basis for building logic and thinking patterns, and even the cornerstone of communication skills in life. For example, mathematics is related to logic, literature is associated with comprehension and writing skills.

My personal view is that teenagers should be allowed to choose their favourite subjects to learn such as geography, arts, the second language and so on, and at the same time, some core subjects like maths and literature will be compulsory subjects in the school.

In conclusion, with keeping essential subjects, teenagers can be encouraged to choose a part of subjects which they would like to study to improve their personalities and specialities.