IELTS; School teachers used to be the source of information

School teachers used to be the source of information; however, some people argue that teachers are not as important as before because of the increasing variety of information resources. What is your opinion?

In the past few decades, teachers are considered to be the main roles in process of delivering knowledge. But there is a view that students can acquire knowledge from the other ways instead of teachers. Personally, I think teachers are still important for us because of some irreplaceable factors.

On one hand, teachers can enable students to develop their personality and interests. Different students have various individuality and ability, and teachers are able to apply appropriate teaching methods and contents in education process according to students' specific situations. This means that student can learn knowledge step by step under guidance of teachers and have more efficiency.

Besides, teachers can choose the proper information from different sources and convey it to students. There are a great deal of information from internet and mass media, and it is difficult for students to distinguish what is necessary for them, because some students are not mature and have no the ability to choose the useful knowledge from these resources. Some students are likely to be affected by some violent contents and unhealthy lifestyles when they view internet and watch TV programs. Therefore, it is necessary for teachers to help students acquire knowledge selectively.

On the other hand, teachers' knowledge is relatively limited, and the other resources can be regarded as a complement for students learning. For example, students can gain further knowledge from internet, if they are interested in a specific subject. This can broaden their horizon and prompt them to pursue individual goals.

In conclusion, although there are a number of resources that could provide students with more choices of learning, teachers still play a crucial role in conveying knowledge.