IELTS WRITING TASK 2: School teaching should focus on success on the workforce

Topic:

Schools should focus more on teaching students how to be successful in the workforce and less on helping them to achieve academic success.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, we are living in a world where issues of education-related is a heated topic and often discussed. It is commonly believed that school education should focus more on the skills which lead to the success of the students rather than only improving their academic performance. In my opinion, both success-oriented teaching and academic achievements could go together to help students be more successful in the future.

Today's world is a very competitive place. Everyone is in the race to get prosperous by either getting a highly paid job or by starting their own successful business. For example, a person cannot become a good designer by reading textbooks and applying theoretical knowledge such as formulas and equations. So, they should get taught about vocational skills like painting, crafting, visual elements, and principles. Also, regular workshops should be organized at school to teach them the value of team bonding, cooperation, and effective communication skills. In other words, a lot of things are required to be successful in life apart from books.

On the other hand, we cannot underestimate the role of academic courses. Such courses lay a solid foundation for their knowledge and they can understand basic things in life with ease. For instance, school subjects help in enhancing their aptitude and verbal abilities. Moreover, recruiters always look for outstanding academic records while hiring employees. Hence, school studies also contribute in a positive manner.

In conclusion, a person's future career success, to a certain extent, is still influenced by his or her academic performance at school so it is rather reckless to jump to an absolute conclusion on which educational philosophy should be consistently held.