[TOEFL]All schoold teachers should be required to take the courses in every five year

An intriguing topic of discussion at hand is whether all schoold teachers should be required to take the courses in every five years to update their knowledge. The answer to this question can vary greatly depending on the individual perspectives. Thus, the jury may still be out, but as far as I am concerned, I agree with the statement. In this essay, I will present two reasons supporting my standpoint as follows.

To begin with, special courses for teachers could directly improve students' academic performance. In general, even though most of teachers are well-educated and erudite, it still is necessary to educate them in a way that they can deliver the material to students more easier. By taking courses, teachers not only obtain newer information about the subject, but they also can impart their knowledge in a clear manner to their students. To illustrate, I recently read an article in the Korean Herald about the study that fascinated me. The study compared grades of two different schools: Hansung highschool and Ramon highschool. Surprisingly, average grade of seniors in Hansung highschool at the Korean College Entrance Exam was approximately 10 percent higher than counterparts from Ramonn School. Kim Jeongwoo, the principal of the Hansung highschool, mentioned that they render their teachers to take special courses every five years. On the other hand, Ramon highschool does not have such system. As this case reveals, without the courses for teachers, seniors in Hansung highschool would not have been able to achieve such excellent performance in the exam.

On top of that, making teachers to take courses from time to time could actually prevent teachers from giving wrong information to students. Most opponents of this courses would argue that teachers already learned about the subject thoroughly; there is no need to waste time and money to make such courses. Although this fall in line with most instances of teachers, and deserves a fair amount of recognition, I believe it does not effectively encompass the larger picture, because human always opt to forget things that they learned before. This can be seen in our everyday lives. For example, driver's license has to be renewed every 5 years in Korea. No matter how good the driver is, everybody has to take the certain program in order to make sure that they did not forget any important information in terms of driving. Same thing could happen in the class room. If teachers do not get educated regularly, then they could forget the integral information, in turn, delivering students incorrect information. In order to prevent such occasion, courses every five years are indispensable for all teachers.

In conclusion, from the reasons and examples mentioned above, I believe it is possible to fully understand my standing on this issue.