Schools should contain some obligatory courses that are necessary for students

It is really idealistic for students to read what they want. However, almost the entire schools offer limited course options and students have to study according to the schedule that the school offers. Recently, some people argue that if secondary students have freedom to study what they like, their efficiency will be improved. As far as I concerned, I think high schools should offer courses according to the educational program of their country. I will discuss the reasons for my view in following paragraphs.

In the first place, the main purpose of a high school is to prepare students for their future studies. The course schedule of a secondary school should include some basic lessons that allow students to get primary understanding of all existing university majors. Therefore, it should involve some basic course on natural science, social science, humanity and art. At the first students do not have sufficient information to choice what can be beneficial for their future study. After a acquiring initial knowledge about each field of study, they can choose their field of study. Then, they have to study essential courses of chosen field. In addition, there are number of other restrictions that do not allow schools to offer courses according to students favors. Simply, schools cannot afford all requirements for various studies. Beyond the teachers' salary, they may not find teachers with appropriate education to teach students. There would be restrictions in the number of classes and all school's equipment.

However, there are lots of advantages to provide students with optional choices. If students have a chance to study what they are interested in, their performance in school will be improved. This is especially good motivation for those students that cannot stand the structured environments of the schools. Some optional extra curriculum can satisfies these needs .In this case students can participate in their desired classes, and meanwhile follow the school's programs.

In conclusion, in my view, secondary schools should contain some obligatory courses that are necessary for students' education and some optional courses that are according to the majority of students' desire.