[IELTS] schools are no longer needed?

Schools are no longer necessary, because children can get so much information available through Internet, and they can study just as well at home. What extent do you agree or disagree?

In this highly information-oriented society, a considerable number of people have gained access to education through Internet. Thus some people argue that schools are not needed and students can just study at home in this way. As far as I am concerned, despite all the merits of online learning, schools are always indispensable.

Undeniably, online learning is a positive development. It has to be admitted that it is both convenient and economical for children to learn on the Web. They can take free courses on the Internet without leaving our homes and can stop at any time they want. Nevertheless, since we are able to get education and entertain ourselves at home, the line between study and play may be blurred. I doubt if the efficiency of learning at home via Internet can be ensured.

However, schools have their unique and irreplaceable functions including ensure better learning efficiency. It is easy to understand that under the supervisory of the teachers, students are more likely to master learning materials. Furthermore, a school is not only a place for students to study, but also a place to get along with others including their teachers and classmates, through whom there is a lot to be learned.

While learning in school does possess many advantages, it is also a fact that we will have to go to school everyday and thus we will have to spend a lot of time traveling to and from schools, suffering from traffic jams and all the other kinds of inconveniences. By contrast, we wouldn't be bothered by this through Internet.

On way of conclusion, I argue that both the traditional schools and online learning have their unique characteristics and cannot be replaced by each other. Thereby a combination of these two approaches of learning is the best policy.

I have already taken IELTS and got band 6.5 for writing. I hope to get higher scores. I will appreciate all your help.