Should Schools Offer Moral Class? (SAT and homework)

This is actually a prompt from the SAT, but is also the topic for my today's writing assignment. I know the essay is short, about 260 words or so. I had problems when writing this topic. It was like that I kept saying moral education is important because it teaches children to be responsible, and - I think - will help to reduce environmental pollution because much of the pollution is contributed by people who don't care about environment, hence, other people living in the world. (I didn't write down this because I'm sure if it's a good point.) I need examples and ideas which I'm lack of. Do you have ideas or examples, or ways to find them?

Thanks for any idea, advice, review and correction! :)

Prompt 3

Think carefully about the issue presented in the following excerpt and the assignment below.

Most of our schools are not facing up to their responsibilities. We must begin to ask ourselves whether educators should help students address the critical moral choices and social issues of our time. Schools have responsibilities beyond training people for jobs and getting students into college.

Adapted from Svi Shapiro

Assignment:

Should schools help students understand moral choices and social issues?

Essay:

Should schools offer classes that teach students moral values and ethical issues? Of course. Moral education is important as much as academic education is.

Students are part of the society. They are not isolated individuals who only take classes and tests in schools. They interact with other people of society. And the act of interaction would bring out social issues which they have to make choices based on their moral values. Therefore, moral education which can help students to make the right choice is crucial.

If someone pays you for accusing nine black men of the gang rape, even though the black men have never even touched you, would you lie or would you reject the offer? Your choice is made depended on your moral values - do you value integrity, justice and non-racial discrimination very high and much higher than money? If you do not, then you would probably choose to lie, which is the choice that two women in 1930s had made - they lied and the black men were put into jail. (Scottsboro Case)

Therefore, moral education is very important and crucial because it helps children to acquire moral virtues: honesty, responsibility, integrity, respect for others. And it teaches students to recognize the importance of ethics, giving and self-control which is important for every living person that one can't do whatever one wants to do. We are living in society and we are members of our community. So when we want to do something, we need to think of the result and the effect that would make upon other people.