Schools offer now qualification through distance learning from the internet

IELTS Task 2 - Distance learning

Universities and collages are now offering qualification through distance learning from the internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is irrefutable that more and more universities and colleges have started to offer qualification through distance learning from the internet rather than teachers in the classroom. This situation has both pros and cons. In my opinion, the advantages definitely outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, It is obvious that distance learning benefits both teachers and students because they do not need to commute to school anymore. distance learning saves their time and allows them to do other things. For example, students that live far away from their college would be very grateful because they can study through online courses, not only that they can save their time but also their money since they do not need to commute to school or live in dorms.

On the other hand, some people prefer study in classroom rather than study online. The reason is that they believe students can not stay focus studying online, and teachers can not tell whether a student is distracted or not, so distance learning will harm the efficiency of the courses. However, some actions could be taken to make sure that students are paying attention to the courses. For example, teachers could always randomly pick someone in the class to answer questions. In that way, students will not get distracted so easily.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, there are definite advantages to offering qualification through distance learning from the internet as long as universities and colleges could ensure the quality of their online courses and make sure that every students could stay focus throughout the classes. If this is done, then definitely the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.