IELTS Essay: Scientific research sould be carried out by the governments or not?

Topic: Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is common that many private companies in many countries carry out scientific researches and programs. However, because of the advantages of sufficient funding, reinforced security, and supporting for non-profit programs, in my opinion, scientific researches should be carried out and controlled by the governments.

First of all, some huge scientific researches such as outer space programs require the participation of thousands of researchers and the corporation of various institutions, and all these requirements are needed the sufficient financial support. As an administrator of society, the government is obliged to allocate a high proportion funding to scientific research. The government is in a good position to mobilize and coordinate the resource of funding all over the country to accomplish scientific projects.

In addition, as the results of scientific research sometimes contain confidential information that is vital to national security. Some high technological results, for example: the nuclear generating station and the cloning; should be controlled by the government. The government can contribute their power to prevent bad effects such as nuclear leaking and protect the public's security.

Lastly, some of researches are long-term non-profit programs, for example, preserving and protecting the ecosystem of our planet from natural or man-made disturbances; these researches would not be carried out in the private companies because they are profit driven. The government would control these researches to protect the ecosystem and the society.

In conclusion, since the government can contribute its financial support, security issues, and non-profit researches, it should take the leading role in the scientific research.