TOEFL: Scientists' contribution vs. artists' contributions

Hardly is there any doubt that nowadays life is easier and favorable thanks to scientists and artists. Some people believe that artists' contributions are the most important for our life. While others, like me, claim that scientists make more important contributions than artists. In order to support my idea there are a few aspects that are worth mentioning.

On the one hand, there are people who believe that artists make the beautiful and relaxing things in our life. As a matter of fact, they write books and make movies which help us getting over our problems and make our life less difficult. For example, there is nothing better than reading a book or watching a movie after a long tiring day. However, if there were no scientists, there would be no paper or technology where people can interpret their ideas. Thus I believe that artists' contribution depends on scientists' inventions.

On the other hand, there are people who claim that now life is easier, improved and technological advanced because of scientist. Irrespective of the fact that artists make life more enjoyable, scientist help us to survive, in case they have found a cure for almost each disease. Furthermore, nowadays we use a lot of technology which makes our everyday life easier and more comfortable, like the computer which is one of the most useful invention of the scientists. For instance, at the present time almost every house have a computer from which people can talk with friends, searching information from the internet, playing games and so on. Not only make scientists our essential needs more available with the technology, but also they make the technology cheaper, in that way almost everyone can afford it.

In short, both the artists and the scientists have a huge contribution to our life, but scientists make the base of all the things which make our life comfortable. I believe that without them now we wouldn't have so many advances in our life, even I wouldn't write this essay at the moment.