IELTS: SCIENTISTS VS POLITICIANS - Who have the greatest influence on our lives?

Some people think scientists have the greatest influence on our lives. Others, however, believe that politicians have the greatest influence. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In modern society, people's lives are inevitably involved in both science and politics. The influences that scientists and politicians have on us are sometimes compared by people.

The way that scientists transform our lives is often more visible. Almost everything we use in our lives has close link to science and technology, ranging from the oven used for cooking to the vehicle used for travelling and the computer used for processing information. If it were not for scientists, we would never have discovered and harnessed so many principles of the nature, and we might still live in the primitive age.

Politicians affect our lives in a different way, which is less easily to be noticed. They establish budgets to provide public facilities and services; they make and enforce laws to maintain equality and justice; they build up armies to defend national security. If it were not for them, the society would be in a mess, and we could not have been living in an organized way.

While I acknowledge that scientists and politicians are both essential to a well-developed society, I tend toward the opinion that scientists have deeper and longer influence. For example, although paper was invented over two thousand years ago, it is still a necessity in our life. However, the political system built at that time is unlikely to be missed by people today.

In conclusion, scientists and politicians influence our lives in their own ways, but it seems to me that the influence of the scientists is more direct and powerful.