SEA LEVELS. Building dams and reservoirs can be taken as the workable solution for flood problem

Global warming is one of the biggest threats humans face in the 21st Century and sea levels are continuing to rise at alarming rates. What problems are associated with this and what are some possible solutions.

The global warming phenomenon is one of big issues faced by human beings and the level of sea floor has reached at. The problem appeared owing to this phenomenon is flood around the coastal area and the workable solution which can be taken is the construction of flood-control barrier.

As the impact of the emerging of climate change, the flood is striking many countries since the amount of the ocean's surface increased so that it spillover to the river near the residence. A current study conducted by Japan Government reveals the impact of flood is striking out every single part of human life and the aftermath of flood brings many drawbacks such as the skin disease and diarrhea that mostly affects children, causes the absent of economic activity as people cannot walk on their daily activity, and inflicts the financial loss of a country.

The construction of flood-control barrier such as dam and reservoir can be taken as the workable solution for this problem. The function of the dam is to control the limit of water near the residence where inhabitants live while the function of reservoir is to place plenty of water. Therefore the flood can be controlled since the excessive amount of water will go through the dam and will be accommodated to the reservoir next to the dam. The construction of this barrier has been used by some countries having the same problem for decades, for instance Netherlands.

In conclusion, building dam and reservoir that has been applied by Netherlands is the best long-term solution to face the flood in many other countries as the amount of water in the ocean is overflowing resulting in flooding happened in some regions of countries become the most common problem of the global warming phenomenon.