Should secondary students learn international news as one of their subjects

Overall understanding about the world by young students

Please help me suggest an approximately band for this essay. thank you ^^

Some people think secondary school students should learn international news as one of their subjects, while others believe that this is a waste of valuable time. Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

It is believed that secondary students should be exposed to international news as an official subject. However, I hold my contrary opinion on this matter because of some reasons.

Students in secondary school are too young to have a deep and clear understanding about the world. In addition, news about the world always change day by day so we are not able to update information immediately. It would be viewed as a waste of time. Students could not learn about a ton of diverse information and they must spend more time in important subjects such as Maths, English, Literature.. so on. Another thing that the violence portrayed in many of today's news stories could affect student's conduct.

On the other hand, we can not refuse some advantages that international news bring us. These definitely improve our general knowledge. The news coming from all over the world presents significant details about different regions. Therefore, students can enrich their experience and broaden their horizon. Maybe, it also helps them develop ability to analyse sophisticated situations.

I believe that students will have a general view of the world by many different ways, they can find out on the Internet or TV that have amount of useful information. School takes a responsibility in guiding students how to use the media in the best way to gain a better understanding of the world instead of adding international news as compulsory subject in the curriculum of secondary school