Seek the Truth; do not believe in something simply because an authority says so

Is it a mistake to believe something simply because an authority says so? Yes, I believe it is. To ascertain the truth, one must thoroughly research and investigate, not just believe in it because an authoritative figure says so. Lying is easy when a person has some outsize power. Hitler believed his people were the superior race, that the Aryans were the best and told his countrymen that and they believed. He did not have any evidence and of course it certainly wasn't true. Ignorance is bliss, so they say, but living in a lie is a mistake. But this can be solved though. When an authority claims something take it with a grain of salt, there could be some truth to it or find out for yourself. Seeking out the truth might not be easy but at least you found it and chose not to live with a claim that may or may not be true. As people we have the right to know. And since we have that right, why not make use of it? Seek the truth out and do so gladly knowing that you fand after yourself and don't just believe in someone who is an authority. In the end you will be glad you did.