Essay about selecting the course.

Hello...I wonder that my supporting ideas are reasonable enough and details are OK. Anyway, thanks for your help in advance. :-)

Topic: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? High school students should allow students to study the course that they want to study.

Use two specific reasons and examples to support your stance.

The issue of allowing students to study the course that they want to study has been hotly debated. Some people believe that students should have a chance to learn a wide range of subjects by providing the basic curriculum. However, this claim overlooks the potential advantages of students' own selected course such as increasing students' motivation and their skill development.

To begin with, students' intrinsic motivation is profoundly boosted. Most students select the course based on their interests and what they consider necessary to learn. During my high school years, I did not participate very enthusiastically especially in the classes which are out of my interests and unwanted while I was motivated to study in the only classes that I think important and find fun.

In addition, students invest their time more on perfecting their talented skill. Those who prepare for entering the art college, for instance, do not necessarily have to spend time struggling with mathematic problems or doing some laboratory research. Rather, their priority should be 'sharpening their artistic skills. If they are given the right to choose the course,

If students are given more control over tailoring their curriculum by their own, so many positive effects will be aroused. Above all, students' motivation is increased since they study only the subjects they are interested in. Also, students spend more time on sharpening their skills by not taking unnecessary courses that do not count. Thus, students should be encouraged to select the courses based on their taste.