IELTS- Task 2: Selection of students based on their qualifications

Topic: Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together.

DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND STATE YOUR OWN OPINION.

Here is my essay. Feel free to give advice. Thanks a lot!

It is undeniable that students possess different levels of academic capacities. Therefore, some arguments stated that educational institutions need to classify students based on their qualifications. Others claim that students with various types of abilities had better study in the same class. In my opinion, we should categorize students only in high schools and universities.

The most supported reason for choosing students according to their academic abilities is to guarantee the general improvement of the class. Having the same qualification, students can be taught by the same teaching methods without fears of being left behind or underestimated by teachers or classmates. However, this class type may discourage students from striving to get outstanding academic results.

On the contrary, the main advantage of studying with students of different capacities is that strengths and weaknesses are shared with each other. While well-qualified students seem to be boring and lack of soft skills, the others with low study marks, who really need help from not only teachers but also their well-studied classmates, always bring entertainments to the class. Nevertheless, this kind of class may sparks conflicts between excellent students and the below-average ones due to some disagreement.

To the best of my knowledge, I believe that classifying students based on their academic abilities should only be done in high school and higher education. Due to the necessity of socialization in childhood, students in primary and secondary schools need to learn how to treat others of different qualifications properly. From the age of 16, they are able to realize their academic capacities and very sensitive when it comes to being compared to excellent students. Therefore, high schools need to select students according to their studious capacities.

In conclusion, studying with students of either different or the same academic abilities are essential for the overall development. However, categorization should only be done by high schools and universities.