self assesment : attitude towards writing

instuctions: Discuss your attitude towards writing in general and what you believe to have been your biggest struggles prior to taking English Fundamentals II. Then, explain what you feel that you learned in this class that you will take with you into your professional life and other college courses.

My attitude towards writing was not a positive one. I was not confident with my writing ability especially when I had an abundant amount of papers, essays, or any other writing assignments to do. I had been like this I believe since my freshman year of high school. I had felt that I would never be able to understand all the rules for writing with what punctuations to use when or what type of sentences are these. All this made me feel all types of emotions. I was scared I wouldn't be able to write a decent paper that fully expressed the thoughts and ideas I wanted to get through with correct grammar. I also was scared that I wouldn't meet the expectations of the professor therefore not receive a decent grade.. This just over all had made me scared of failing. Another emotion I felt was being overwhelmed, I was overwhelmed when I had due dates for essays and no matter how much I tried to get it started I kept staring at a paper with nothing but my name which in turn made me nervous.

But now after English Fundamentals I feel a lot of that has changed. I feel that I was given the skills and material needed to succeed with writing. Skills in grammar such as making subjects and verbs agree, combining sentences, correcting capitalization and punctuations, correcting fragments and run-ons, choosing correct pronouns in each sentence and the list goes on. As long as I keep applying all the skills I've learned and practicing them, my paper will portray fully what I want to express. Which that in turn will completely boost my confidence in writing. With this confidence and skills my future college courses as well as my professional life now and in the future will gain from it.