[TOEFL] Serious movies or entertaining movies? Which is better?

Topic:It is better to watch serious movies that are designed to make you think than to watch movies that are primarily designed to amuse or entertain

Going to the movies has been one of people's favorite pastime activities. In relation to this phenomenon, the question has been arisen as to whether it is better to watch serious movies that are designed to make you think than to watch movies that are primarily designed to amuse or entertain. In my opinion, I believe that watching enjoyable movies are more preferable choice for its ability to relieve one's stress and put people closer.

First of all, people can alleviate the level of stress they get from their daily lives by watching fun movies. In today's fast-paced society, more and more people get stressed out and fed up with high workloads as well as growing responsibilities to take. Entertaining movies such as comedies can act as remedy for those under pressure amid hectic lifestyle. For example, one study has found that there is tendency of people watching more comedy movies when the economies are bad which implies that people prefer watching comedies in order to deal with hardships. Thus, watching fun movies is a great way for one to restore joy to his/her life.

Secondly, comedy movies play a crucial role in keeping a tight relationship between people. Unlike those serious movies based on political and social issues, movies such as comedy mostly come up with more ordinary stories that people can have in common with. For this reason, when friends or couples go to movies, they select comedy movies with a view to have chemistry with each other. For instance, when I first had a date with my girlfriend Su-ji, we went to the cinema to watch a movie. At the time, we watched the movie called "Yesman" which was classified as comedy but also romantic movie. After watching the movie, our relationship became tighten because we got to know more about each other. In this sense, people can have build a close relationship with others by watching comedies.

In conclusion, although some people may find serious movies to be their favorite, I strongly believe that movies that are entertaining and amusing are the best for its capability to relieve one from his/her stressful situation and make people become closer with one another.

I don't think i'm on right track with my second reasoning.

Can someone please give more plausible idea for this topic?

And also please someone help me with my grammar, i'm always in trouble with grammar.:)