There are several reasons why distance learning is more useful than conventional learning. IELTS 2

Question :

Technology like computer and internet made it easier to learn university subject frim home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of learning from home?

My Answer :

Most subjects in university these days are able to access from home due to the development of technology. Althought this issue has benefits, the drawbacks should be considered.

There are several reasons why distance learning is more useful. Firstly, student can be flexible toward the time course. For instance, students who have occupation are able to arrange their time when they have to work or study as well. This enables them to decided learning while they should work. Another reason is, that they are still living in their place. Most universities which located in big city require their student to live in around the campus or at least in same place. Distance learning make student can acquire the subject materials without moving to the nearby university.

Although distance learning brings positive effects, there are numerous drawbacks for student social life. To begin, there is a lack of interaction between the students and their lecture. While it can be solved by technology which have a skype that helping them to meet each other virtually, it cannot be enough to understand the subjects such as science and engineering. Laboratory courses have also been linked to problem of distance learning. For several courses that they have to do in laboratory will be a consequence for them because they are not be able to run their experiment. Furthermore, there is influence on their relationship among students. If they spend less time in campus, they will have not enough friends to interact with.

To sum up, despite the benefits of distance learning, the negative effects is more problematic. Those affect mostly in student social life.