IELTS Essay severe punishment for traffic offensese

your comments (include grammer, score...) are highly appreciated ~thx

topic In order to improve safety on our roads more severe punishment should be established for driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When it comes to traffic accident, some assert that severe penalty should be imposed, in a bid to improve security. I agree with the view that this action will curb the offenses, but still, other approaches can more or less reduce traffic violations.

Plainly one of the effective punishments is more serious penalty points. Recently, in China, the Department of Transportation put a regulation which doubts the penalty points for breaking traffic light into practice, this means if you disobey traffic light in twice, your driving license will be disqualified. Thanks to this drivers become more aware of traffic law and comply with it better since they know the more serious consequences after violating.

Moreover, more severe fining system surely enables to cut down the quantity of offences. Which can give credence to this point is the case of my father's friend. In the past, the over speeding was only punished through verbal warning and 2 penalty points. My father's friend often drives as fast as he wants. After having to pay the fine as considerable as 500 yuan for this disobedient, never does he drive over the speed limit. Therefore, intensifying retribution suppresses people's attempt to break the traffic laws.

It is not to say, however, other approaches can be ignored. For example, setting up more stringent driving test to enhance driver's proficiency; propagating potential jeopardy of disobedient to educate public. Indeed, those actions can make offenses lessen, in contrast, retribution could have direct influence on curtailing traffic crimes.

On the whole, the combination of severe punishment and other approaches is the best recipe for making our road safer