Essay about sharing information in my sectors

Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is considered by some that sharing information related to specific sectors is a good manner while others see that information should be strictly confidential due its worthy and importance. In my view, it depends on the attitude of each individual when deciding to circulate information.

On the one hand, in fields such as science and academic work, it is essential and crucial to spread information in relation to specific topics. This would contribute significantly to scientific researching and education. To be clear, writing research papers is a required work to many students and post-graduates as they would need to referencing and citing many documents for their papers. The more research papers conducted, the better education we receive. The book named Homo Sapiens, for example, is the huge dedication to our science, which clearly explains the origin of human beings from that we attain more knowledge about our history.

On the other hand, many think that some information ought to be kept in secret because of its value. In terms of personal information, it is true that the act of spreading this type of information should be considered. Moreover, for some information which is an important project to many researchers using their knowledge and spending long time completing. That kind of information should be paid to access, which is a reward for authors' diligent work. For instance, many e-books published by Springer are required to be paid out in case the users want to read.

Finally, in my opinion, whether sharing information publicly or keeping it in confidence, depends on the attitudes of the possessor. To be specific, many research papers can be found on the internet on a wide scale covering various topics. It shows that those owners or authors have no problems with uploading their works on public community and somewhat this action might support many people in relation to finding documents for their papers. Moreover, some are even ready to share private things online without any hesitations; in contrast, a handle of people would feel that some information needs to be off the record.

To conclude, sharing information helps to develop several areas in our life, but it still a sensitive issue since the viewpoint of each person may vary when sharing their documents.