Sharing is a vital step in conducting research and doing business

Some people believe that it is good to share as much as information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Some people believe that some information is too important or too invaluable to be shared freely.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

sharing information or keeping it under cover

It is believed that sharing is a vital step in conducting research and doing business, while some people contend the idea that not all information can be shared at wills. In my opinion, I think sharing should be encouraged in the condition that others' profits are not violated.

Information sharing plays a central role in fields like business and academic. Most scholars develop their ideas and theories based on the previous studies, so if every scientist only focuses on their own jobs without borrowing ideas from each other, innovation and creation could hardly be achieved. Walt, being as the most prestigious and significant scientists during Industrial Revolution, transformed the steam machine according to various inventors' experiences and advice. In this way, sharing information smooths the research by allowing researchers being exposed to various possibilities.

On the other hand, it is true that not all information can be shared according to everyone's wishes. Firstly, some information might be confidential and can not be set accessible to the public. For instance, during business cooperation, contracts regulated between two companies might not be open to the public. Otherwise, both companies' profits will be threatened by their opponents. Secondly, information in government or state's organizations may contain privacy of its citizens. These information, in fact, should be protected instead of being released, not to mention being passed around among different groups, since the sharing of it will cause damage to everyone's privacy.

In conclusion, I think that information sharing has many merits in various fields, but we should be aware of its result before we share it.