"Shining stars in the dark skies" Should money be spent on space exploration?

I'm preparing for IELTS writing test. Any comment and correction note is highly appreciated.

Shining stars in the dark skies have been haunted men's minds for thousands of years. Meticulous observations and mathematical calculations were made by astronomers from their observatories to trace the stars and measure the distance between them to discover the effects of celestial bodies on the callendar. However, it was only in the modern age that technological progress made it possible to penetrate the areas that had been remaining obscure for years. Still, due to its expensive price, the necessity of space exploration is debated. This essay will discuss whether or not countries should invest on space exploration.

Firstly, space exploration has accelerated the progress of science by providing new research grounds, from meteorology to topology. The information's gathered and transited by satellites every seconds have changed our lives profoundly. Special pictures presented the humankind a whole new perception of himself, as a part of infinite universe. For these benefits it provides, world should make a worthwhile contribution for space exploration progress.

Nevertheless, governments have to invest astronomical amounts of money on space exploration, while they ignore more important issues they face here on earth. The critical issues like international poverty or environmental pollution can be handled with far less expenses than those spent on space exploration.

Secondly, with the ever-increasing population of earth and its finite natural resources the idea of dwelling in other planets no longer seems far-fetched. Even some scientists like DR. Hawking argue that it is the only solution for the ever-increasing pollution of our natural environment, which will lead to extinction of all species in distant future.

Thus, we can't stop science of its progress but it can be wisely programmed.

The investigation on space exploration is an inevitable issue which governments should handle with realistic plans to not underestimate other social and economical problems people face here on earth.