The shortage of accommodation in big cities

lack of housing in most of the big cities

In recent years, the majority of people living in cities are facing a severe problem of lacking accommodation. Although this problem can be contributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions have been offered to address this.

There are several seasons of housing shortage in large cities. Firstly, since the population in the world is soared rapidly, the demand for accommodations increased as it is in direct ratio with the number of residents in cities. For example, the capital of Finland has the same area to Beijing in China, but the housing shortage of Beijing is receiving more attention from people because the number of residents in this city is by far higher than that of the capital of Finland. Additionally, as a result of inequitable development between many cities, today, more and more young people go to cities to find a good job with a higher salary than they can earn in their villages, especially in big cities or industrialization areas. Consequently, the population density in those cities will increase, which leads to a severe shortage of housing.

However, to deal with this noticeable issue the authorities can consider some solutions. Firstly, a feasible solution but not novel, by demolishing former buildings to make space for skyscrapers, governments can increase the number of housing with the same areas. For example, an old with litter apartments can be replaced by a fashion building with hundred of flats, which means that more accommodations are created so the lack of housing can be addressed. Moreover, if the governments allocate national budgets equitably to remote areas, the economy in that area will develop and create more jobs for residents. This means that those people in that countryside no longer need to go to big cities to make a living, as a result, the number of people in big cities will be dispersed in other areas. Then, the population in large cities will decrease and the housing shortage is solved.

In conclusion, the lack of housing in the majority of big cities in the world can be attributed to several seasons. By building more skyscrapers or allocating budgets for remote areas, the governments can put this problem under control.