TV shows like The X Factor, Idol, Got Talent, Everybody's Superstar, etc. - just for entertainment?

Televised talent shows have become popular in many societies today.

Are these shows a good method of finding talented people, or are they just entertainment?

Talent shows, such as The X Factor, Idol, Got Talent, Everybody's Superstar, Beauty Pageant, etc, have popped up as the highest-rated of broadcasting programs on television in these days. While some argue that this is only a source of entertainment, I believe that this is a good medium for talented people to show and improve their ability as well as their self-esteem and confidence.

Those of people who oppose televised-talent-hunt shows think that these programs are only aiming to entertain viewers. Everybody's Superstar for instance, the showcase is packed well-organized and well-structured by producer team. Some people argue that it has been known that several segments are scripted to get more attention of the audiences so that the producer gains more profit. This case is a reason why some community think that talent programs are just pastime viewings.

However, I strongly believe that these are more than just entertainment series, these provide a good occasions where participants can perform their talents and skills; moreover, during the quarantine period, participants will be trained professionally to be professionals. In addition to this, these are attested can grow the spirit for people, particularly youngsters, to be able to compete, as well as boost their self-esteem and confidence. Certain programs, like Abang None Jakarta (a tourism ambassador contest in Indonesia), are established with the expectation can be a positive canvass for young generation to be better, and with other objectives such as to prevent negative bahaviour which are vulnarabe with juvenile delinquency.

To sum up, even though some of the programs are probably scripted, but it is not entirely. By contrast, I would argue that the talent showcases are actually right ways which have an edge over any other ordinary television programs.