IELTS 2: A significant decrease in the number of high street shops has been witnessed lately

high street shops have gone out of business

A significant decrease in the number of high street shops has been witnessed lately. In my opinion, it is the rising popularity of online trading that contributes to the detriment of onsite shopping. This entails both positive and negative impacts which will be discussed below.

There is an array of reasons why online shopping is becomingly dominating nowadays market. Firstly, it is way more convenient and time-consuming for buyers when purchasing something online is just a matter of minutes. While shops on high streets often offer a limited range of products, almost everything one can demand could be found via some smartphone trading applications or websites. To sellers' perspectives, running an online commercial is more cost-effective due to less tax and capital, fewer employees needed.

The fact that many high street shops have gone out brings about many positive effects. More of these shops disappeared results in more room for other public areas. There could be more space for pedestrians in the streets and avenues since more pavements are freed. However, landholders would probably receive less income form shopping house renting. Less human resources needed could turn many people unemployed. In addition, some may feel unenjoyable as there are fewer places for them to reunite with relatives and friends. More importantly, the elder could face difficulties now that their go-to stores have been removed, while shopping online is no habit they are familiar with.

In conclusion, the increasing buyers' and sellers' favor of online trading is considered the main cause of high street shop reduction. Alongside this tendency comes both positive and negative aspects.