It is significant that zoos are used to protect rare animals - IELTS essay

Q:Some people think zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, some people think zoos are useful to protect the rare animals.Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There are lots of zoos across the world. Some people state that zoo that limit free of wild animals should be closed; others believe that protecting rare animals is the function of the zoos. My view is that zoos protect the life of rare animals.

People who harbor the view that zoos should be closed have their own reasons. First of all, the zoos restrict the free of wild animals due to cages. Wild animals of zoos live in a cage that allow them to move around in small space, which change from wild animals to domestic animals leading to wildlife lose nature features of them.

In contrast, some people believe that zoos protect rare animals in nowadays when the fur of rare animals is very luxury. More and more hunters kill rare animals in order to their fur or tusk, for example, there are thousands of elephants killed by hunters, and then their tusks will be cut by people,but zoo reduces happened this phenomenon thus conserve the animals' life.

Personally, I agree that zoo is beneficial for rare animals due to protecting diversity of wildlife. Because habitats of wildlife are demolished and climate change, thousands of species are extincted every year. In this question, the zoo plays a key role in preserving the diversity of wildlife by artificial feeding and breeding.

To sum up, it is significant that zoos are used to protect rare animals. This means that we should improve facilities and areas of zoo, and should not close the zoo that is only home to wildlife in this day and age.