Silkworms experience their life in five stages and spend about 10 weeks from eggs to become moths

Life cycle of the silkworm is illustrated by the diagram and picture. At first glance, it is evident that, silkworms experience their life in five stages and spend approximately 10 weeks from eggs to become moths.

First step, the eggs are spawned and adhered by their mother on leaves. After 10 days, the eggs hatch and transform to be silkworm larva. To survive their life, larvas eat mulberry leaf, their favorite diet. During four to six weeks, enough long time, they are going to grow up and produce silk thread. Eventually in that phase, larvas insert its self to coil of silk to make cocoon in three to eight days. While larva is inside, it does not look for and consume food or drink. Afterwards, silkworm comes out from cocoon with new appearance in 16 days. In the end of stages, it becomes a moth with wings and has a skill to fly. The figure of moth is totally different with silkworm, people call it metamorphose.