Single-gender vs. Mixed-gender schools

Some People Think That It Is Better To Educate Boys And Girls In Separate Schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As educational systems have become so diverse, single-sex and mixed schools are established with different academic purposes. However, many people argue that children will perform better in separate schools, while others advocate the advantages mixed gender ones. The following essay will consider both sides and give my personal viewpoint.

On the one hand, it is believed that boys and girls would be more likely to reach their full potential in a single-gender academic environment. To begin with, they have better concentration in the class, thus can achieve higher grades in exams. Indeed, students would not be distracted by love fantasies of teenage or getting involved in immature relationships. Also, it is observed that teenagers tend to comply with shool regulations more when surrounded by same-sex peers. Moreover, increasing sexual misbehavior has been witnessed in many cases of assaults and inappropriate discrimination which occur in mixed-gender schools. Nevertheless, single-sex institutions contribute significantly to reduce the rate of those incidences, thereby create an unbiased environment for teens.

On the other hand, opponents prefer co-education schools for an array of beneficial aspects. The primary reason is that students can develop better communication with the opposite sex. The mutual interaction is of great importance in the sense that juveniles will learn to understand and respect the other gender in terms of biological and emotional sides. Furthermore, mixed-gender schooling system provides students with team-working or competition activities, which greatly enhances their interpersonal skills with the counterparts. Another positive point of this system is that it is less costly comparing to single-sex schools. Clearly, dividing boys and girls demands more educational expense on facilities, curriculums and other sectors as well.

In conclusion, both schooling systems have their own merits and play critical roles in educating and assisting children development. However, I am in favour of co-education schools on account of better interpersonal communication and lower expenditure in comparison to single-sex ones.