Single sex education and coed

School is a place for learning and the most important part of school is not social. Although Co-ed schools are a first choice for most adolescents and their parents, Single sex schools are just as good. In single sex schools, students don't have to worry about sexual attraction of the opposite sex. This enables the students to pay more attention to their studies and less on social situations.

Being in co-ed schools mean that students of both sexes need to acquire proper mores in society. For instance, in a co-ed schools, girls have to learn to sit, speak, and even walk properly. If not, girls who do not present herself in a feminine manner will receive spiteful remark from boys. They may be labeled as "tom-boys". On the contrary, in a girl's school, girls need not to worry so much about reputation or image because there are no boys around of them.

In single-sex classes, girls were observed to participate more, be more extroverted, have more interaction with the teacher and receive less harassment from other students than in mixed-sex classes. Also without the boys being in the classroom there was less time spent on "managing" the environment and more time spent on introducing new topics to and helping the girls out with problems they had. Girls also commented on the enjoyment of their new single-sex classes.

There are some people who believe that irrespective of whether it is a single-sex or a mixed school, finally it is the expectations from society and the family that influence the development of a child. However, school remains one of the primary agents of socialistic. Single-sex schools may have certain benefits but the fact remains that you cannot shelter your child from the opposite sex forever. Learning happens throughout life and a lot of this learning occurs through inter-sex interaction.