GRE Essay on "skepticism in student's learning"

Hi

I'm taking up GRE this month. I don't have much guidance in preparation. Would very much appreciate if someone can give feedback on my essay.

The task is to analyze the following issue:

"Students should bring a certain skepticism to whatever they study. They should question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively."

Here goes my essay:

The author suggests that students should not blindly accept what is being tutored to them. It is essential to accede to the facts after thorough analysis. However, skepticism can be an overstatement when it comes to educating the young mind. Undue skepticism wrecks the rate of learning in a child.

Skepticism is prevalent to the study of physical science. For example, the Roman Catholic church propagated in their teachings that the Earth is flat. Some great thinkers like Galileo failed to accede to such claims and vehemently opposed the Church's authority. It was his sense of reasoning that provoked him to contradict the Church's advocation. In modern days, it is typical of a researcher or a scientist to probe into every aspect of a thesis and conclude to a result with sufficient evidence, leaving no doubt to the readers. The value of skepticism is not limited to physical sciences. In fields of political science, students must not be prejudiced and should assert their doubts without hindrance to gain a better stand point. Skepticism is, in fact, key to success in legal science. Lawyers are adept in it as it helps them demystify their clienteles' claims. Thus, skepticism is inherit in every field of study.

Skepticism can be closely related to man's sense of reasoning. When a question is raised, the response may trigger another question. This kind of iteration will result in better understanding. For example, to answer why the rainbow is colorful requires the need to understand the concept of refraction. This can further provoke one to ask the difference between reflection and refraction. This kind of learning process is more retentive than direct dissipation of knowledge.

As the author contends, it is prudent to question whatever we study. However, the use of "skepticism" by author seems to be an overstatement. If one questions everything, then it is plausible that many questions go unanswered, which will ultimately result in lack of learning. This is most evident in the context of educating young mind. While imparting the basics of education, a child can be encouraged to experiment and learn than to question. This will ensure that they clearly delineate the subtle difference between critiquing and mere questioning.

In conclusion, we can infer that skepticism is the incentive to make progress. It should be encouraged in students at all but the most basic levels of education.