IELTS: Skills instead of Knowledge_Advantage and Disadvantage

In the modern world, more and more emphasis is being placed on the acquisition of practical skills rather than knowledge from textbooks and other sources.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

In this day and age, the demand for jobs is rising as a result of overpopulation. Accordingly, in order to get a good job, many people assume that acquiring practical skills is more important and necessary that amassing knowledge from textbooks and other sources. This essay will elaborate on the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

First and foremost, it cannot be denied that practical skills are crucial to one's career prospects, as a skills-based education can bridge the transition between academic life and working life. When a student is prepared with skills for particular jobs like using computers skill for an IT designer or sewing skill for a tailor, he tends to deal with difficulties at work and adapt to the working environment better and faster. According to a recent research, 73% of students who were familiarized with practical skills at school succeeded in a shorter time than those who didn't. Therefore, it is vital to develop practical skills.

This trend, however, drives learners to a drawback. It is stated by some people that a skills-based education can boost students' employment prospects. This is certainly true, but gaining knowledge from textbooks and other sources including TVs or the Internet is indispensable. The reason is that such information acquaints students with the basic knowledge that they cannot do without. For example, it takes some qualifications to practice as doctors or lawyers. Consequently, students need to read a lot of books and make the best use of other sources of information to improve their knowledge of such specific fields. That is why if the acquisition of knowledge is considered less important that that of practical skills, students will lack the ability to work in some certain areas.

All in all, a greater deal of emphasis is being placed on developing practical skills instead of knowledge from books and the like nowadays. It has both advantages and disadvantages that are worth contemplating. If schools can combine and balance a skills-based education and a knowledge-based one, their students will benefit a lot from it.