IELTS writing task 2: Small families

In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups.

Is this a positive or negative trend?

Unlike people who lived in large, extended family groups in the early times, more and more people in cities nowadays seem to live on their own. While living alone might be more comfortable and cozier, I believe this is a negative development that can lead to depression, potentially harmful situations and also problems later on in life.

One serious problem that can arise from people living alone is that it can lead to inconvenience. Perhaps one might encounter a traffic accident and break legs or arms unluckily, under these kinds of circumstances it would cause numerous inconveniences if none of your family were at your side to help with your daily life. As for people living in small family units, if provided that both parents are busy at work and have no time to take care of their infant, they would have to pay money to hire a nanny, resulting in increasing extra burden on the family's expenses.

Another issue is that the problem of isolation might become even more severe if you live solely. Since human beings are social animals, having others' company is essential for our daily lives. Take myself for instance, I rented my own place and lived alone in my last year of college. At first, I thought that it would be more comfortable for me since I did not need to care about other roommates anymore while living in the campus dormitory, and I could do everything I like at any time I wished. Nevertheless, after one month, I found myself having difficulties in tolerating no one to talk with or to share expressions, feeling so depressed and gloomy all day.

In conclusion, although it could be more convenient for people to live alone, it might result in other problems for this to be considered a positive trend.