Social vs academic qualifications - Ielts task 2

Some employers believe that job applicant's social skills are more important than their academic qualifications.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Both social skills and specialist skills are necessary for our career. Some managing directors assert that the former one plays a more crucial role in recruitment. However, in my opinion, I do not agree with this school of thought and I believe that the more important one depends totally on corporate culture. The following paragraphs will state my perspective more clearly.

Normally, a certificate is not only the first criterion of every applicant to pass the job interview but also a demonstration of your effort and ability after graduating from a long course in the university. The employer may appoint your position based on your certificates. Hence, owning an excellent academic qualification can help us to get a better position in the company and a higher salary, of course. Despite academic qualifications' importance, social skills still remain an irreplaceable factor of employees' success in the workplace. Efficient communication with each other can help the employed person get on well with their colleagues and boost the result of teamwork and bring to him promotion opportunities in the company.

If a qualification can help the candidate to pass the interview, soft skills can promote his career. Both of them are essential but your choice of suitable one is based on your choice of applied company. In the case of a technical corporation, having a qualified technical skill will be the best factor that the recruiters expect. In contrary, in

advertising agencies and brokerages firms, job applicants with wonderful interpersonal skills are prioritized to shortlist. For instance, a humorous and talkative man is more attractive to customers and he is highly appreciated in advertising and selling products.

In conclusion, the belief of a more vital role of social skills in comparison with the applicant's academic qualifications is not always right. We ought to develop the suitable skills so that it can meet the employer's standards and expectations.