Social media are popular but the nature of online platform presents a myriad of potential issues

IELTS 2: social media - advantages and disadvantages

Social media is becoming increasingly populat among all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media does have risk. Do you think the advatantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages ?

There is no doubt about the prevalence of social media among all age ranges. However, the nature of of online platform presents a myriad of potential issues. Both views will be discussed in my essay before drawing my own conclusion.

On the one hand, the most visible merit of social networking sites is that keep in touch with the loved ones. To explicitly explain,through Facebook, Viber,etc,people can easily have a virtual conversational exchange such as video call to interact with intimate friends as well as family members without any cost. Second, using social netwok facilitates communication globally. With lots of forums, groups are avaible on Facebook,Twitter.., consumers simply find mates who have the same hobby or ideals.

On the other hand,the setback of social media is more concerning. Of even major concern of many is data loss. To exemplify, everything, in the contemporary world, is quickly accessible online,hence, consumers are willingly share their personal information in exchange of speedy online services such as paying bills, shopping,etc without a second thought. Despite being ensured about privacy information security,it is still straightforward for hacker to hack user's data which leads to some serious consequences like money loss.

In the nutshell, for the aforementioned reasons, inspite of countless benefits of social networking sites, I am on the view that the drawback of the risk of losing private information is more considerable.