【IELTS TASK2】Social and practical problems caused by non-native speaker in foreign country

knowledge of a local language by a foreigner

Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problem,as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that when people have to speak a foreign language in a country they live can cause serious social and practical problems. Although I agree that non-native speaker might produce some problem in society and practical area, I do not think it will be developed into a serious position.

Language is a complex culture. It contents policy, history and traditional culture, which is the limitation for non-native speakers to understand appropriately. For most of the people, speaking a foreign language in their country can cause some social problem. Firstly, they may not have a close relationship with others. Since they are not familiar with the using way of grammar and vocabulary. they may use it in a wrong way and lead to some communication problem when having a conversation with others. In addition, as to the practical problem. It might be hard for the non-native speaker to find a knowledge-based job in the foreign country because of their weakness in language skill if the non-native speaker uses a foreign language to discuss contracts and other financial matters with local company staff. It will have a bad effect on company benefit due to their lack of fluent language skills.

On the other hand, some practical and society problem caused by the non-native speaker may not be serious. Generally, natives are kind and friendly, they are willing to understand the mistake that made in-deliberately by non-native speakers, they also will tell the foreigners how to use it in the right way, which helps the non-native speaker to learn this language better. Besides, the local government will also provide opportunities with the non-native speaker to find some physical job like waiters and cleaners so that those people can earn money by themselves. Therefore, the problem will not be getting worse.

In conclusion, while I agree there are some problems existing due to non-native speakers are unfamiliar with the local language, I do not think it will develop into a serious position with the polite communication between natives and non-native speakers and support from the authority.