Essay on social responsibilities that organisations have (beside generating profit)

As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities

It is argued that organisations have social responsibilities along with generating profit. In my opinion, I wholeheartedly agree with this statement.

On the one hand, corporations focusing on making money is plausible for a combination of reasons. First and foremost, companies require stable financial support in order to establish products and projects. For instance, during COVID, numerous businesses, namely Chanel and H&M, ran up against bankruptcy in many regions owing to the lack of income to manufacture and proceed with their plans. Furthermore, for organisations to operate smoothly, staff need to be paid rightly and accordingly to contracts, as it will be a considerable motivation for them to put their best efforts into their jobs. Hence, profit is the utmost necessity to encourage staff to work efficiently and conscientiously. As a result, companies will be able to function properly and avoid falling apart.

On the other hand, I believe that businesses are also in charge of making contributions to society. The primary reason is that they play a substantial role in developing the economy of a community. Therefore, organisations are required to take their impact on the society into consideration and grow their business profoundly in order to bring back income. Moreover, businesses exist owing to the permission of governments and consumers. So it is undeniable that they should provide effective and helpful activities for the population in return, such as establishing scholarships, employment opportunities, and charities.

To sum up, whereas it is essential for companies to make money on the purpose of operating, I believe they should also be responsible for public activities and contributions.